Announced at the National Comics Awards ceremony on Saturday June 1st 2002 as part of the COMICS 2002 FESTIVAL in Bristol. Ceremony hosted by Kev F Sutherland, the producer of the Comics 2002 Festival. Held at At-Bristol, on the Harbourside, Bristol.

In each category there was a totally open vote. Five times as many votes were received this year than in any previous year, resulting in a definitive Top Ten chart being announced for each category.

f.f.i. Kev F Sutherland, producer, 01275 871856,,

Comics International Award for BEST COMIC NOW

  1. Beano
  2. 2000AD
  3. Transmetropolitan
  4. New X Men
  5. Planetary
  6. Lucifer
  7. Dark Knight Strikes Again
  8. 100 Bullets
  9. X Force
  10. Ultimate Spider-Man

Award presented by Mike Conroy (Comics International)
Award accepted by Euan Kerr (editor, The Beano)

Acceptance speech quote: "Really this deserves to go to George Mooney, the first editor of The Beano who died a couple of months ago. So this is in his honour." - Euan Kerr

Comics International Award for BEST COMIC EVER

  1. Beano
  2. 2000AD
  3. Watchmen
  4. Sandman
  5. Preacher
  6. X Men
  7. Dark Knight Returns
  8. Spider-Man
  9. Batman
  10. V For Vendetta

Award presented by Dez Skinn (editor and publisher, Comic International)
Award accepted by Euan Kerr (editor, The Beano)

Acceptance speech quote: "It just goes to show, a lollipop every second week gets you the votes." - Euan Kerr


  1. Frank Quitely
  2. Frazer Irving
  3. Bryan Hitch
  4. Carlos Ezquerra
  5. John Cassaday
  6. John Romita Jr
  7. Frank Miller
  8. Alan Davis
  9. Steve Dillon
  10. Alex Ross

Award presented by Martin Averre (Ace Comics)
Award accepted by Frank Quitely (artist, New X Men)

Incognito Award for BEST COMIC ARTIST EVER

  1. Jack Kirby
  2. Brian Bolland
  3. Carlos Ezquerra
  4. Mike McMahon
  5. Alex Ross
  6. Neal Adams
  7. Alan Davis
  8. Frank Miller
  9. Simon Bisley
  10. Will Eisner

Award presented by Dave Finn (Incognito Comics)
Award accepted by Hassan Yusuf (former producer UK Comic Art Convention)

Classic Comic Collectibles Award for BEST COMICS WRITER NOW

  1. Grant Morrison
  2. Alan Moore
  3. Warren Ellis
  4. John Wagner
  5. Brian Michael Bendis
  6. Garth Ennis
  7. Frank Miller
  8. Anonymous - The Beano
  9. Robbie Morrison
  10. Neil Gaiman

Award presented by Mark Buckingham (artist, Spider-Man)
Award accepted by Grant Morrison (writer, New X Men, The Filth)

Acceptance speech quote: "With this award I am going to end the war between India and Pakistan."


  1. Alan Moore
  2. John Wagner
  3. Stan Lee
  4. Neil Gaiman
  5. Grant Morrison
  6. Frank Miller
  7. Alan Grant
  8. Pat Mills
  9. Anonymous (The Beano)
  10. Garth Ennis

Award presented by Nick Parry-Jones (Red Route distribution)
Award accepted by Dave Gibbons

National Comics Award for BEST COMIC CHARACTER

  1. Judge Dredd
  2. Dennis The Menace
  3. Batman
  4. Spider-Man
  5. Spider Jerusalem
  6. Nikolai Dante
  7. Roger The Dodger
  8. John Constantine
  9. Daredevil
  10. Superman

Award presented by The Comedian from Watchmen and Alice in Wonderland (aka character costume models Doug Oliver & Andrea Sanders)
Award accepted by Matt Smith (editor, 2000AD)

Acceptance speech quote: "On behalf of John Wagner and Carlos Ezquerra, the creators of Judge Dredd, thankyou." - Matt Smith


  1. Gnasher
  2. Wulf Sternhammer
  3. Barbara Gordon/Oracle
  4. Alfred (Batman)
  5. Cassidy (Preacher)
  6. Lex Luthor
  7. Nightwing
  8. Sinister / Dexter
  9. Deena Pilgrim (Powers)
  10. Doop (X-Force)

Award presented by Dave Gibbons (legendary comic creator)
Award accepted by Euan Kerr (editor, The Beano)

Acceptance speech quote : "Gnash gnash gnash" - Euan Kerr

National Comics Award for BEST NEW TALENT

  1. Frazer Irving
  2. John Watson
  3. Mike Carey
  4. Tan Eng Huat
  5. Si Spurrier
  6. Nick Locking
  7. Ed Brubaker
  8. Geoff Johns
  9. Jock
  10. Judd Winick

Award presented by Karen Berger (editor in chief, DC Vertigo comics)
Award accepted by Frazer Irving (artist, Judge Death, 2000AD)

National Comics Award for BEST NEW COMIC

  1. Ultimates
  2. The Establishment
  3. New X Men
  4. Alias
  5. Doom Patrol
  6. Origin
  7. Dark Knight Strikes Again
  8. Bat Girl
  9. Catwoman
  10. Muties

Award presented by Jonathan Bryans and Bryan Liddiard (Naturesguard)
Award accepted by Joe Quesada (editor in chief, Marvel Comics)

Acceptance speech quote: "Five times as many votes, and yet nothing in there from CrossGen comics?"


  1. Zarjaz
  2. Jack Staff
  3. Strangehaven
  4. Cerebus
  5. Bone
  6. Petra Etcetera
  7. Hardly The Hog
  8. Finder
  9. Arsenic Lullaby
  10. Diesel Sweeties

Award presented by Carol Bennett (publisher, Knockabout Comics)
Award accepted by Stewart Crofts-Perkins on behalf of Andrew Lewis (editor, Zarjaz, who couldn't attend as his wife had just given birth, so double congratulations)


  1. Borderline
  2. 2000AD Online
  3. Comics International
  4. Beanotown
  5. Wizard
  6. Komixworld
  7. Comic Book Resources
  8. Ninth Art
  9. DC
  10. Tripwire

Award presented by Rich Johnston (comics gossip columnist)
Award accepted by Phil Hall (editor, Borderline)

Acceptance speech quote: "Twelve months ago I set out to create the best comics magazine money can't buy. I guess this goes some way towards validating that decision. Thankyou." - Phil Hall

Macunlimited Award for BEST ONLINE STRIP

  1. The Atrocity
  2. Bobbins
  3. Marshall Law
  4. Super idol
  5. Dilbert
  6. Sluggy Freelance
  7. Nowhere Girl
  8. Bullpen Bits (Marvel)
  9. Squidbitz
  10. Astounding Space Thrills

Award presented by Alex Summersby (Macunlimited)
Accepted by Nick Locking & Tony Rollinson (creators, The Atrocity)

SFX Award for Best Comic-Based FILM OR TV

  1. Ghostworld
  2. X Men movie
  3. Smallville
  4. Spider-Man movie
  5. Blade II
  6. Dennis The Menace
  7. From Hell
  8. Batman animated
  9. Justice League animation
  10. X Men Evolution

Award presented by Jim Valentino (publisher, Image comics)
Award accepted by Kev F Sutherland (producer, Comics 2002 Festival)

Tripwire Presentation of THE ROLL OF HONOUR for lifetime achievement in comics

  1. Alan Moore
  2. John Wagner
  3. Beano
  4. Stan Lee
  5. Frank Miller
  6. Phil Hall
  7. Mike McMahon
  8. Pat Mills
  9. Alan Grant
  10. Will Eisner

Award presented by Rodney Ramos (artist, Transmetropolitan, Green Lantern)
Award accepted by Dave Gibbons

Reporter: Kev F Sutherland